The 175th anniversary of
the castle of La Hulpe

1842-2017

Add an element

The castle today

2018

    Listed as an exceptional Walloon heritage site since 1993, the estate is known for its wealth of varied fauna and flora, and for the peaceful, relaxing enjoyment that it provides to the public.

    The castle today

Folon Foundation

2000

    The Walloon Region transformed the castle’s farm in 1998 to serve as a home for the work of Jean-Michel Folon, with 500 of the artist’s work covering 40 years of creative output via original, interactive scenes.

    Folon Foundation

Opening to the public

1975

    The Solvay Cultural Foundation was launched in 1973 to complete the mission set by the Count, with the first visitors entering the estate two years later.

    Opening to the public

Donation to the Belgian government and regionalization

1968

    Ernest Solvay donated the estate to the government in 1968, on the condition that the estate’s integrity would be preserved and used to promote cultural events. He would, however, continue to enjoy the benefit of the estate until his death on 1972.

    Donation to the Belgian government and regionalization

    After improving the parkland and installing an 800m viewpoint culminating in a 36m-high obelisk, Ernest Solvay secured listed protected status for the estate on June 10th, 1963.

    Donation to the Belgian government and regionalization

Transformation of the façade

1929

    Many major changes were carried out between 1929 and 1932, particularly the removal of the Béthune coat of arms. The chateau’s current frontage is attributable to Armand and Ernest-John, the son and grandson of the founder of the famous Solvay dynasty.

    Transformation of the façade

Additions by the architect Victor Horta

1894

    In 1894, Ernest Solvay had his town house, the Hôtel Solvay, built in Brussels. Victor Horta was also engaged to furnish the castle’s interior. The only remaining trace of these changes, in the art nouveau style, is the hand pump near the stables.

    Additions by the architect Victor Horta

Acquisition of the estate by the Solvay family

1893

    Baron Antoine de Roest d’Alkemade acquired the estate in 1891. He expanded it, and continued to improve the property until the death of his wife and son, whereupon he decided to re-sell the estate to the industrialist, Ernest John Solvay.

    Acquisition of the estate by the Solvay family

    The founder of Solvay & Co purchased all 347ha in 1893 as a second home. The estate grew to 490 hectares in 1920, and Belgium’s best landscape gardener, Jules Buyssens, refurbished it to create a remarkable country parkland and forests.

    Acquisition of the estate by the Solvay family

Construction of the castle by the Béthune family

1842

    Jean-Jacques Nicolas Arveuf-Fransquin and Jean-François Coppens were the architects placed in charge of the construction of the castle. Work was completed in 1842, leaving a majestic chateau in the Flemish neo-renaissance style.

    Construction of the castle by the Béthune family

Formation of the estate in the Forest of Soignes

1833

    After Belgium gained its independence, the Société Générale offered vast tracts of the Forest of Soignes for Sale. This was the background against which Count de Béthune Hesdigneul acquired 341 hectares of the forest, transforming them into parkland.

    Formation of the estate in the Forest of Soignes

Les 175 ans du
château de La Hulpe

1842-2017

Ajouter un élément

Le château aujourd’hui

2018

    Classé patrimoine exceptionnel de Wallonie depuis 1993, le domaine est pris en exemple pour sa faune variée, sa flore d’une grande richesse et pour la qualité de détente et de paix qu’il offre au public

    Le château aujourd’hui

Fondation Folon

2000

    En 1998, la Région wallonne transforme la ferme du château pour y accueillir les œuvres de Jean-Michel Folon. 500 œuvres de l’artiste retracent 40 ans de création à travers une scénographie originale et interactive.

    Fondation Folon

Ouverture au public

1975

    C’est en 1973 que la Fondation culturelle Solvay voit le jour pour mener à bien la mission confiée par le comte. Deux ans plus tard, les premiers promeneurs font leur entrée dans le domaine.

    Ouverture au public

Donation à l’état belge et régionalisation

1968

    En 1968, Ernest Solvay fait don du domaine de 227 ha à l’Etat belge à condition de le maintenir dans son intégrité et de promouvoir les manifestations et rencontres culturelles. Il gardera par contre la jouissance jusqu’à sa mort le 17/10/1972

    Donation à l’état belge et régionalisation

    Le comte E-J Solvay entreprit de nombreux travaux et plantations. Il aimait les grandes perspectives, les pièces d’eau et surtout les arbres. Afin de faire reconnaître le caractère exceptionnel de son domaine, il en obtient le classement le 10 juin 1963.

    Donation à l’état belge et régionalisation

Transformation de la façade

1929

    De 1929 à 1932, beaucoup de modifications importantes ont été réalisées, notamment la disparition des armoiries de Béthune. L’aspect actuel du château est à attribuer à Armand et Ernest-John, fils et petit-fils du fondateur de la célèbre dynastie Solvay

    Transformation de la façade

Apport de l’architecte Victor Horta

1894

    En 1894, Ernest Solvay fait édifier l’hôtel Solvay et il confie les aménagements intérieurs du château à Victor Horta. Ces changements de style art nouveau ont maintenant disparu et le seul témoin de cette époque est la pompe à bras près des écuries.

    Apport de l’architecte Victor Horta

Acquisition du domaine par la famille Solvay

1893

    En janvier 1871, le baron Antoine de Roest d’Alkemade acquiert le domaine. Il l’agrandit et poursuit l’œuvre d’embellissement jusqu’au décès de sa femme et de son fils où il décide de revendre à l’industriel Ernest John Solvay.

    Acquisition du domaine par la famille Solvay

    En 1893, le fondateur de Solvay & Co achète les 347 ha pour en faire sa résidence secondaire. En 1920, le domaine atteint les 490 ha et le meilleur paysagiste belge de l’époque, Jules Buyssens, le réaménage en un remarquable parc paysager et forestier.

    Acquisition du domaine par la famille Solvay

Construction du château par la famille Béthune

1842

    Ce sont les architectes Jean-Jacques Nicolas Arveuf-Fransquin et Jean-François Coppens qui sont en charge de la construction du château. En 1842, les travaux se terminent et laissent place à un majestueux château de style néo-renaissance flamand.

    Construction du château par la famille Béthune

Un domaine né de la forêt de Soignes

1833

    Juste après l’Indépendance de la Belgique en 1830, la Société Générale met en vente de vastes pans de la forêt de Soignes. C’est dans ce cadre qu’en 1833 le comte Maximilien de Béthune Hesdigneul acquiert 341 hectares et les transforme en parc.

    Un domaine né de la forêt de Soignes

    Pour aménager le parc, le comte de Béthune fait partiellement défricher le domaine. Il fait construire trois maisons de garde et deux fermes avant d'entreprendre la construction du château.

    1833